Patch Notes


Champions Online, and the Cataclysm. by meteorfall
August 24, 2009, 3:59 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’ve been playing the Open Beta of Champions Online, this week.  And I must say, I’m pretty impressed. The Character Creator is OMFG INSANE. Seriously, you want a rat-man with a jet-pack ? Go ahead. A lumberjack with a laser sword, you say ? No problem. Only bad thing I’ve noticed with it : You can’t make fat characters. Mmhm, no “belly” feature in the creator, which is kinda disapointing ^^.

Graphic-wise, the game looks awesome. It’s colorful and vibrant. Millenium City (the main area of the game) is badass, I love the way they made it. There’s huge skyscrapers, museums, dojos, sewers, suburbs and even a parody of the Fight Club movie. Canada and the Desert are pretty nifty aswell, it’s great to be able to get out of the city unlike CoH.

The game is really smooth, the way the zones are instanced limits the lag by a lot. I like how the game is region-free, meaning players from all around the world can play together.

The Controls are pretty simple too, they’re a lot like any other MMO. Except for the “action” key, which makes you interact with everything in the game (picking up objects, talking to NPCs, opening doors…). Only really frustrating thing is how key bindings don’t save over to other characters, you can set up your keys on one character and have to re-do everything when creating another one.

But yeah, being able to mix and match powers from all the different frameworks is an awesome feature. I currently play as a clown named Cellmate, that mainly uses the Munitions framework (rifles, gatling guns, rocket launchers…).

Anywho, I’m not really sure if I’ll be switching over to CO from WAR, but I’ll be sure to check it out later on if I don’t, as the Open Beta has been very interesting.

foto_champions_online

Now for a complete different subject. As most of us have I’m sure, I carefully followed Blizzcon and the huge Cataclysm Expansion these past days. And oh god, I love Worgen. Yeah that’s right, when Cataclysm comes out, I’m rolling Ally. Who’d of thought.

The “Path of the Titans” mastery feature sounds cool, even though I’m still not sure what it’s all about. Guild Leveling (which was obviously taken off WAR, which is fine), is badass. Uuh, Azeroth being completely changed is cool, but not being able to go back to the old zones is pretty sad. Let’s see, level cap being raised to 85 and not 90 is interesting, meaning there’ll be even more expansions since the presumed “final” level of WoW will be 100. Archaeology as the new secondary profession is intriguing, digging up relics and finding artifacts sounds fun.

Deadmines and SFK being revamped for 80, WHOO ! I wonder if DM80 will be alliance exclusive-ish like the lower level one is. What else, the new raids and dungeons of Cataclysm will prolly be badass, with the return of Ragnaros. I’m also waiting to see Deathwing, cos’ he’s one badass dragon. Oh right, new race/class combinations : Blood Elf Warriors, yay ! Tauren Pallies, yay ? Dwarf Shamans, uuh, nay.

All in all, I’m looking forward to Cataclysm, it adds plenty of new things that I think will greatly improve WoW. I’ll be watching it closely from now until it’s release, and I hope to hear more details about it soon.

Until then,

-WAAAGH Well, Meteorfall.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

